Shanti Jnana Yoga

My hatha yoga practice began before I took my first independent breath in this life. My mother did yoga from the age of 14 and maintained her practice throughout all three of her pregnancies. I was a yoga baby and some of my earliest memories are of my mother in her 80s style luminescent leotards standing on her head in the oppressive South African afternoon heat. Due to my family being based in isolated rural areas of the country for much of my childhood, the concept and application of independent yogic practice was something I naturally embraced. After unsettled teenage years marred by eating disorders and sexual assault, I made a timely return in 2007. The cycle of yoga in my life has been effortlessly moulded in conjunction with a disciplined Vipasssana meditation practice. Since then yoga has channeled the flow of my life and framed my self-awareness. In a natural progression, I travelled to India in 2010 to complete a Sivananda Teacher’s Training Course in Vrindaban. Since returning to my student home town of Grahamstown in 2011, I have begun giving weekly free yoga classes called Shanti Jnana Yoga, meaning peaceful wisdom. I intend for these classes to remain open and free; a reflection of my singular and insignificant breath in the infinite inhalation and exhalation.

Your yoga begins when you leave the classroom.

Its how you connect to people and how you relate to the world.

Your yoga is your giving and receiving.

Its your wellness between inner and outer worlds.

Your yoga is living the purpose of your life.

Your yoga is to spread peace, one person at a time.

The light and love in me

bows to the light and love in you.

Om

Shanti, shanti, shanti

2 thoughts on “Shanti Jnana Yoga

  1. Your yoga begins when you leave the class room. How true. And good to be reminded from time to time in a world where every body is getting obsessed about postures, postures, postures….
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

